Florida DBPR Approves InterNACHI's 120-Hour Pre-Licensing Course and Proctored State Exam for Home Inspectors in Florida

 
To become a licensed home inspector in Florida, you can:
 

Two Training Options:

You have two options for taking the required 120 hours of training. You can take all 120 hours online (free to members). Or you can purchase our 120-hour training course that includes 80 hours online and 40 hours in a classroom. InterNACHI Provider # 0004455.
 

FL Home Inspector Licensing State Exam (proctored):

To become a Licensed Home Inspector in Florida, you're required to take a state exam. To take the InterNACHI Florida Home Inspector Licensing Examination, visit nachi.org/florida-licensing-home-inspector-exam.

FL Home Inspector Continuing Education (online & free to members):

Licensed Home Inspectors in Florida are required to take 14 hours of Continuing Education (12 General; 2 Wind Hurricane) approved by Florida DBPR. To fulfill your CE requirements, take InterNACHI's online courses approved by DBPR (online & free to members).

Everything You Need in Florida:

Visit www.nachi.org/florida.htm for everything you need to be successful in Florida.

Frequently Asked Questions:

More information about the state exam for home inspectors in Florida, including the fee for the state exam, please visit https://www.myfloridalicense.com/intentions2.asp?chBoard=true&boardid=04&SID=.
 
Are there any reductions to the fee because I'm already an InterNACHI member?
No.  If you're already a member, we'll include a free membership renewal for next year.  As you know, all InterNACHI online education is free for members.  The fee for the 120-hour Florida course is essentially for the live class portion; the fees are actually set by the School.
Download the following FAQ document:
What are the requirements to become a licensed home inspector in the State of Florida?
This depends upon which method of licensure for which you are applying: licensure by examination, endorsement, or grandfathering (which ended March 1, 2011). 
Licensure by examination requires: 
  • passing an examination; and
  • completing an approved 120-hour course.  InterNACHI's Florida Pre-Licensing Course is approved by Florida and includes 40 hours live CLASSROOM (hands-on) and 80 hours ONLINE (learn at your pace, on your computer, from home).
Does the department have a website where the public can get information about the profession? 
Yes; www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Doing Business With Us > Home Inspector.
Is there a list of approved 120 hour prelicensing courses?
All department approved 120 hour prelicensing courses can be found at www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/CE.html
Additional licensure requirements for all applicants:
  • An applicant for licensure must submit to a criminal background check, be of good moral character, and obtain a $300,000 commercial general liability insurance policy.
  • An applicant may not qualify for licensure if he or she has had a home inspector license or a license in any related field revoked at any time or suspended within the previous 5 years or has been assessed a fine that exceeds $500 within the previous 5 years. A license in a related field includes, but is not limited to, licensure in real estate, construction, mold-related services, or building code administration or inspection. 
Do I currently need a license to perform home inspections?

A license will be required after July 1, 2010.

What examination is given?
Anyone desiring to be licensed by examination will be required to pass the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) given by the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI).  Applicants must achieve a passing grade pursuant to the requirements of the NHIE, Section 455.217 and Section 468.8313(4), F.S.  The applicant must pass the examination before they apply to be licensed.
What happens after I pass the examination?
Applicants must meet the other licensure requirements, including good moral character, completion of training requirements, fees, and insurance. Applicants then apply to the department for licensure.
For State Application Assistance:
If you have any questions or need assistance completing the application, please contact the departmentís Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395. 
Iím currently licensed with the Construction Industry Licensing Board as a contractor. Do I need a license to perform home inspections?

(As of May 10, 2011) Contractors will be able to conduct system specific "inspections" that include some systems or components of the home. "Home inspection services" is currently defined to include all eight components of the home. Contractors can continue to conduct estimates and system specific inspections on those building systems and components included within their scope of work.  The law defines "home inspection services" as the limited visual examination of the following readily accessible installed systems and components of a home: the structure, electrica

l system, HVAC system, roof covering, plumbing system, interior components, exterior components, and site conditions that affect the structure.  The purpose of the inspection is to provide a written professional opinion of the condition of the home.  All eight components of the home must be inspected and a report written to be considered an official home inspection where the department has jurisdiction under Section 468.83 Part XV.   System specific inspections of just one system or component will not require a home inspectors license. However, contractors not licensed as a home inspector may not represent themselves as home inspectors.