More Fun With FPE

Here’s a common problem with the Stab-lok design. Regardless of when it was manufactured, the Stab-lok design is inherently flawed.

One Breaker fell out when I removed the cover. Three others were never properly seated.

lol…Jeff I inspected a FPE just yesterday…the thing look in perfect condition…and was working fine…

As an electrician I have a hard time telling a client they have to spend 1,500 to 2,000 in a service change just because it is a FPE panel…we have thousands of them in our area…

I make them aware of the issues, explain the possible problems, make the suggesting to upgradeing atleast the breakers to the newer tested models made by challenger I believe…and so on.

Now you get some really wild ones…but for the most part if the panel is not double tapped…and looks neat and indoors with no corrosion inside and looks in good shape for the most part…I wont tell them they should replace it…

Now in the one you show…heck it is only 8 breakers…simple service change…but in the ones I usually see…a full panel of 20-30 breakers…much more costly…

Again really depends on the LOOK of the situation…but you sure do fine some nice ones…:slight_smile:

Hmmm

When I have a crocodile problem , I will call Steve Irwin…Goodday Mate

When I have a FPE panel problem… I will call Jeff Pope!!:smiley:

WOW… You work in FPE land Jeff…Just incredible! :wink:

Ok…Have at me Patrick…:slight_smile:

Federal Pacific Hunter…I can just hear the jingle now

Dang-er-ous Snapp’in Monstar THE FPE Panel… Gosh Golly Mate,

We gonna have ta Nail this babey with a insulated GLOVE mate…:smiley:

Sorry just goofy tonight guys… Been smelling that incredible STEAK on the grill flavor from the near by ritzy restaurant… SOOOO TASTEY… Must EAT s-t-e-a-k…:smiley:

Jeff,

Have ever asked anyone at a fire department what the statics were in your area for electrical related fires to these panels…and Zinsco?