How To?

I got a call today for an inspection of a 26 unit apartment complex. Each unit is under 1000 square feet. I have approx 10-12 days to get the job done. I have never done this type of an inspection before. First, how do I price it? Second, what is the best way to perform the inspection. My office is approx 1 hour and 15 minutes from the site. Any advice on pricing and method would be helpful.

[quote=pmagrone]
I got a call today for an inspection of a 26 unit apartment complex. Each unit is under 1000 square feet. I have approx 10-12 days to get the job done. I have never done this type of an inspection before. First, how do I price it? Second, what is the best way to perform the inspection. My office is approx 1 hour and 15 minutes from the site. Any advice on pricing and method would be helpful./quot

Paul;

My guess would be in the range of .18 cents per square foot plus travel time.

26,000 square feet at .18 =$4680 or $180 per unit. + travel expense. ?

All said and done .22 cents per square foot. And that is assumming there is a powere plant for this complex and attached or de-tached structures relative to the units. Site walk, utilities, grounds, ancillary.

Hope this helps.

Marcel :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

P.S. Dale Duffy might be able to give you advice also, he is closer to your area.

You will get varying opinions on this one. First you need to decide if you are going to do your own roof or hire a roofer, and are you going to sub out any of the other areas.

Usually I would do this job myself, maybe take along another insepctor to move things along. You should have a set fee for the complex, like $450.00 and $100.00 per unit if they are 1 bedroom and $125.00 per unit if they are 2 bedroom. Pricing will also be influenced by the type of inpsection they are asking for. Many times appliances are omitted from these inspections.