Construction then and now...

Interesting…
http://realestate.msn.com//slideshow.aspx?cp-documentid=23218890&GT1=35000#1

I have been building homes for over 30 years and I concur with much of the article. That fact that so many of the trades have become compartmentalized to the extent that the installers / subcontractors do not understand the dynamic relation that their respective trades have with one another has provided a niche for the last 30 years where there exist a home inspection profession in which the public is looking to us in discovering those problems that the average buyer is not aware of.

Unfortunately, most home inspectors lack much of that knowledge as well and it is evident that many of them would rather post a question with pictures than to actually do the research themselves. (Some of the questions I have seen on here lately I would be embarrassed to ask, especially coming from some who are advertising themselves as Certified Master Inspector’s… it devalues the credentials)

At one time a true carpenter did the following:
dig and pour footers
rough and finished framing
install insulation
install all types of exterior veneers
install roofing
install drywall including finishing and taping
paint
trim
flooring
cabinets
even did some masonry and their own landscaping.

He could also tell you what species of wood is best used for a particular application. You go to a construction site today and you would do well to find a worker that speaks English fluently.

In regard to old growth vs. new grow, it is somewhat deceiving… yes old growth may be seem harder however what is misleading is that older growth was often a different species than that your various pines & spruces which are prevalent today; also thickness is different… a 2x4 use to be 2 inches x 4 inches… versus 1.5 x 3.5…yet given the engineering principles employed today, I will take a finger joint stud, I-joist, LVL’s, Advantech OSB, etc. all day long versus what was used 50 years ago.