Contacting the Seller

I hate it when I show up at the door and the seller is not expecting me (probably happens 1% of the time). It’s due to the long line of communication…my client tells his realtor, his realtor tells the selling realtor, selling realtor tells the seller…lots of room for miscommunication.

Do any of you call the seller directly, if the number is available through “reverse lookup”, to confirm the time and location?

I have been in the Construction Industry for over 30 years, I learned a long time ago that you need to trust people but, you can’t trust people. Call and verify with everyone day before the appointment.

I have started doing that but I have had a few selling realtors complaining that I should not be contacting the seller directly.

And they are correct. There is a reason for confidentiality. The buyer (almost) never knows the identity of the seller. Sometimes they find out at closing.

I have been doing Inspections for over 10 years…
Sellers being surprised will occur
but
should not be a surprise…

They just signed a contract providing for an Inspection to occur within the next 5 - 7 days…

Their issue is with their Agent.

Why take on additional responsibility, time and expense to do someone else’s job?

I agree when it happens with us I just apologize for you not receiving notification .
I blame no one and just tell them I will be here for about 3 hours give them my pen a card and carry on … Roy

I don’t agree. My only responsibility is to my client. If the phone number is public, I will speak to anyone up to and including the Pope.
I think realtors sometimes confuse their COE with our COE, they are different.

First question… where did you get the owners name to look to see if the number is public?

Don’t need the owner’s name…“reverse lookup”.
If it’s not there then it’s not public and I don’t (can’t) call.