what to do????

Had a client call Friday wants me to do an inspection on a commercial building. During the conversation he states that when I do the inspection that he doesn’t want me to tell the current tenant, why I am there, but he wants me to tell them that I am an insurance inspector. The Landlord of the building is going to be there also and he agress with the new tenant and their lawyer.
I think something is up. What should I do? the client is willing to pay me $200 per hour including time to do the report and travel. I figure this will be around a $2,000+ job I am torn on what I should do. Do it or not

I personally would be straight forward with my client and tell them that I am not comfortable lying to anyone about who I am or what I do. If they have a problem with that then they can choose someone else to lie for them. I run my business honestly and I get a lot of referrals because of it. I would not jeoperdise my integrity to please anyone at all.

I never lie .
But I see no reason why you need to say much.
If some one askes tell the truth say I am an Inspector .
Nothing else .
If they ask you why you can say that I work for my client.
If they ask more sorry I am paid to do a job and to write a report.
Just evade and never lie.
Give you an example My wife says How do you like my Purple Hat
( And I hate it ) Say Hmmm well I think I like the Pink one better.
I managed to stay out of trouble for 52 years.
Lie once and you just get deeper.
…Cookie

Robert,

With commercial inspections this scenario is common place. Do not take it the wrong way, just do your job and follow your clients request.

I guess it is like when my wife says “does these jeans make my butt look big?” Just look at her and say I Like the G-string better.:twisted: :stuck_out_tongue: :smiley:

I kind of Figured that, just wasn’t sure.