First inspections

I’m just starting out with my inspection business. I haven’t yet performed an inspection. I’m wondering what the best way get the information from the home being inspected to the office where I can use my software to type up the report. A basic checklist with notes, a voice recorder note pad app, actual report software printouts??? I’m just not sure on how to go about this. This is probably a bone head question for those who have been doing this for years. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

In my opinion, either a tablet pc or I just use a camera. The pictures are my notes.

I used a printed out version of the report and took lots of pictures. I found that I didn’t miss things if I filled in the report as I went along.

tablet Pc is awesome. If money is tight… i started with a regular laptop setup in the kitchen and a notepad. It works great but you do alot of walking. Cameras are great note takers especially for the attic, roof and crawlspace.

Use a laminated copy of your report and a voice recorder. Works great, and you shouldn’t miss anything then.

3D programme with a PDA for notes and information gathering / recording.

I think just getting started is a checklist and your camera. Take lots of pictures even though you’ll only use a few in your report. Be familiar with your camera to take clear pictures of dataplates so you don’t have to write down model numbers and serial numbers. After a while, you’ll establish a routine and not really need the checklist. Also, look at your pictures closely when you are doing your report. From time to time I’ll find issue in a picture that didn’t jump out at me during the inspection.

Great advice.

I just take pics. alot of pics. on average about 200 for a 2000 sq ft er. I include at least one pic for everything i write up in the report. Looking at what i wrote i guess i take a pic for about every 10 sq ft. hmmmm.

Anyway Wayne, Hi :smiley:

Mic

Welcome Wayne,