What information do you gather prior to an inspection?

Hi everyone,
I am a newer home inspector and would like to know what information you like to know about a home prior to showing up for the inspection. When our company books an inspection, we send a confirmation email with the inspection agreement and we also ask for the client to ensure that utilities are turned on. I have heard some HIs ask for the disclosures as well. Does anyone ask for anything else? Is there other information you find it important to gather beforehand?
Thank you ahead of time for your advice!

Jennifer Friend
Certified Home Inspector
AccuTech Colorado
jfriend@accutechcolorado.com
720-440-2345
www.accutechcolorado.com

1 Like

http://www.nachi.org/forum/f2/ask-prior-inspection-46633/

http://www.nachi.org/forum/f2/ask-prior-inspection-46633/#post605052

Ask them how they plan on paying :slight_smile: and make sure they know when they must pay.

Client’s name, phone number, inspection address, email, cash or check.

Thank you all so much for this information! It is very helpful!

Jennifer Friend
Certified Home Inspector
AccuTech Colorado
720-440-2345
www.accutechcolorado.com

Client’s name,

phone number

Inspection address: From this you can look up the mls and get all the info you need without bugging your client.

email

Jim

We ask

-Name for the report to be written
-Address to be inspected
-Present Mailing Address
-House size under air
-Present Realtors name
(if there is a/or want a)
-Pool
-crawlspace
-sprinkler system
-Radon test
-Mold test
-Alarm System
-Any concerns when they viewed the house anything they want us to pay particular attention to
-Termite Inspection
-Wind Mitigation Form
-4 point insurance inspection
-How many stories
-How many AC units (for mold test pricing)
-How they heard about us
-Are there any questions we can answer BEFORE the inspection
-Do they know the name of the listing agent
-Email address