Inspector tax questions.

Hey guys,
I’m fairly new to InterNACHI and I’d like to pick your brains on a few tax issues. First let me start by saying I’m scared of the IRS and don’t want to make any mistakes to give them a reason to audit me. As far as mileage, do I have to claim a home office to get mileage? How many of you claim a home office and have you ever been audited because of it? Are there any little known deductions inspectors can take that most don’t know about.
Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Do this: https://taxbot.com/z/nachi/ I did this year and love it. Their webinars have saved me thousands.

A good CPA will keep your taxes low or zero. I never complain when my CPA raises his fee.
The first thing I did is read up on tax loop holes before I went big in my business. If rich people can use them, I figured I could use most of them.

Best advice is … don’t get your advice from here. Have a CPA set up your books and do what he says.

I’m for sure doing this Nick.
I’m just trying to do everything right, but I also don’t want to cheat myself out of what I should be getting.

Matt try expense report it is free.
Tax bot takes you money out of your pocket.
Careful as there are many vendors picking your pocket on the forum.

Do yourself a huge favor and hire a good CPA.

A good CPA will pay for himself/herself many times over.

Quick Books or the like.

The “A” in CPA stands for accountant. For accounting, I agree, get an accountant to do your accounting.

But Taxbot isn’t just an expense report system (although it is that as well). It’s main focus is tax strategies. I thought I knew every legal way to lower my taxes until taxbot showed me many more. Taxbot made me a small fortune in 2013. They are an InterNACHI vendor that put money in my pocket. They saved me and other staffers here so much money in 2013 that we asked them to do two more webinars with Ben in 2014. They agreed.