Looking to become a Home Inspector

I am a retired Firefighter looking for a new career. I have been in construction for 16 years and a general contractor for 7. But due to an accident on a fire a couple of years ago I am now looking for a new career that will be less strenuous on my knees the fighting fire and building custom homes. So with my knowledge of homes and desire to work I am going to pursue a future as a home inspector.
I have a couple of questions regarding what is the best way to get started in this career path and what advice is there for someone just getting started in this area?

Nick try here , this is a great place to start

Be prepared, you dont start off doing 4-5 inspections per week, it takes time to build a name folks trust and refer to.

You need to look realistically at your “knee” issues. Ever heard of “crawl spaces” and “attics” and “low setting decks”?

Come visit me at www.InspectorBoost.com

Yep… and seemingly miles of stairs. If you walk roofs, you need good/strong ankles and knees as well.

Be safe!

Yep, yep, yep. My knees hurt just thinking about it! :p:mrgreen:

Now home inspection is hard on the knees.
After you hit and physically anesthetize the agent that has been hounding you to hurry up, you have to carry them out to their car and drive them to a secluded spot.
Its hard on the knees.
Then do it with every one that challenges your findings.:roll:
It’s dam exhausting at times Nick.

Then there is the financial end.
You have to pay-off everyone that witnessed it.
Can add up to $25.00 if there are 5.
Mostly though they pay you seeing they wanted to do the same and even fill up your tank.
Mr. Willson is a great help to everyone here.
An X Canadian I hear. makes him all that more credible.:wink:
use the link he posted.
That’s what I did.

Its only the first of many many challenges you will have to over come.

3 years latter you may earn a living.
If you love it then it’s well worth the price of admission.

All the nest Nick.