New to the Industry Question.

I have alot of experience in the construction field, from roofing to framing, to electricial. I am an electrician by trade, either doing new construction commercial buildings or high end residential new construction. And from what I have seen so far in residential construction I would love to be the one inspecting the home for the owners in phases. I have not had any formal training in the home inspection areas except for what I have been taking through NACHI. I have been looking into insurance that is required for inspectors and from what I have been reading you need to have gone to a school in order to get insured. Is this true or am I not looking in the correct place. Another Area that I have been looking for is forms to use while inspecting, where to get supplies like mold and radon testing supplies. As for insurance do I need to have insurance for everything that I offer or will offer. Like mold insurance, radon insurance, pre-listing insurance so on and so forth. These are only a few of the questions that I have so far, if someone could point me into the correct location or place I would be greatful. Thanks all for your time.

James “Jay” Magee

Hi Jay, Welcome,