New inspector

Hey guys I am new to the home inspection field and this forum! I have a construction background any pointers and tips would be appreciated, thanks

Just through out a question and please tell us where you live by filling out the profile.

Join InterNachi and take all the free educational stuff.
Then join the Message Board and be careful to who you listen too!

Welcome. :):wink:

Welcome John!
1st advice would be to run with a seasoned home inspector for a while. Do some research on that seasoned home inspector and make sure his/her credentials are what they are!
2nd Advice, go on a few more inspections with other seasoned homies as each will have a specialty.
3rd make sure you make up a good inspection routine and always try to inspect houses the same way (preferably in the order you write your report). This will help cut down on misses.
4th don’t bother asking for which software to get, just go here, read up and invest in a good software that will cut writing time :wink:
5th do not hesitate to post questions even if you get some crack donkey answers from some guys who forgot they were a newbie at one time.

Yes go Home Inspector Pro even though I use Home Gauge. I have had no trouble but someone has told me Inspector Pro is easier to learn.

Kevin, I use HIP, if you don’t, you don’t know what you are missing.

If you are going to recommend it, use it, and don’t acknowledge you are using another report software.

It is just not right.

I am from south Ga. I’m in the process of taking the classes to get my certified now. How long does it usually take to start making a living doing this?

John:
Pay attention to things people like Marcel says, don’t, under any circumstances, listen to anything that Wood has to say about anything.

He is completely full of s***

Cheers, and welcome

Your just mad at what has just happened but it is OK I will let you have your run.

John, for your own good I strongly recommend that you take Doug’s advise.