Pre Drywall Inspection

Anybody ever done one of these? I have a lead on one and was wondering. Is there a checklist or something anywhere for this?

ADAIR INSPECTION performs Phase Inspectionsin the D/FW market
I-Codes are the checklist, extensive construction background & knowledge are a must for doing these correctly

I do these only once in awhile and yes as Barry points out it really helps to have a background in building. I was a hands on GC for 22 years so I have some experience.

If it’s a house being built by a reputable national firm then you’ll probably find only small things that are wrong/missed.

If it’s a one off by a local guy then you better keep your eyes wide open or maybe defer to someone with more experience. Or maybe go with a more experienced inspector to learn!

Jason, I just happened to do one yesterday, here are a few pics for you.

First one is just an overview shot.
2nd shows some missing insulation under a bump out.
3rd shows a missing roof boot.
4th shows a fully nailed tie down ( all were fully nailed )
5th shows that floor penetrations were sealed properly to help prevent spread of fire/smoke.

Hope thats helps a bit!

Tom

P1020836.jpg

P1020841.jpg

P1020849.jpg

P1020848.jpg

P1020837.jpg

Know how to read and understand building plans.

Hi Greg, why do you say that?
I don’t look at building plans I look at the building.

ty for outing yourself…without the plans you haven’t a clue what’s supposed to be built nor what may be right or wrong

You’re welcome Barry, though I respect your posts in general you’re dead wrong on this one and I’m a bit surprised coming from you.

Lets go one by one given the photos I posted. Ok?

These are cookie cutter townhouses with minor variations. So how
do I not know what is supposed to be built??? :roll:

As far as what is right or wrong goes, I’m mean jeez Barry that’s what
I’m there to determine.