Advise for a Newbie

Evening,

I’m looking for any advise you can give me, I’m just starting out! This isn’t going to be a short term career for me, but want to get it off on the right foot from the start. Thanks

Leah Vass
Dolores, Co
Southwest Inspection Services

1 Like

Good Luck…Its a tough market right now. Please be true to professional pricing and not start out undercutting the fees to get the job. If you are experienced, knowledgable, competent and honest then your fees will be justified.

Thanks. Cutting fees wasn’t part of my option. I’ve read a few post about printing hard copies and will do that of the request until I can get on my feet. I’m not going to be bidding on construction work on the side so I can maintain the disinterested 3rd party on the inspections. I welcome any information. Thanks

Leah Vass
Dolores, Co

Leah ,fill out your profile so we know where you are.
Doing repair work would be against SOP anyway.

For information just keep reading the threads.

Spend all the time you can reading and plowing through the pages on the iNachi site. It will be the best investment of time you could spend.

Read, and read and don’t be afraid to ask questions.

Don’t expect to make a lot of money, be happy helping your clients and educating yourself and them.

Leah,

I love your name. That’s my daughters name.

I can tell you from experience that getting started in the home inspection business will always be slow and gradual, especially with today’s R/E mess. Many newcomers to this profession will get very frustrated during that first year in business and some finally throw in the towel and return to construction work or to their previous occupation. Selling your HI services to R/E agents before you have actual field experience is not easy, but it has been performed by nearly everyone who is an experienced home inspector today.