Clients check bounced

Hello fellow inspectors.

I’m a newbie to the trade and just had a clients check bounce. Does anyone have any advice or techniques on how to approach the client without making them feel uncomfortable or embarrased?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Call them up or go over to see them and let them know their check was returned for insufficient funds and wait for their response.

In my area, it is against the law to write bad checks so, depending on their answer and action, I may also talk to the county prosecutor and let him handle it.

man that sucks
may be an honest mistake
but if intentional
as a last resort!

http://people.ambrosiasw.com/~andrew/funny/hangmans_noose.jpg

fyi: when accepting check it behooves us to at a minimum get DL info and current mailing address.

I have had three bounced checks in six years. Only one have I not been able tro collect. Most times it is an honest error. Be sure and charge them your bank fees also.

If they are uncoperative, I usually will re-deposit their check. If it bounces again, it costs them another set of fees. Yes, I know I have lost $10.00, but sometimes it is worth it. Also, my reports say that in order for my report to be valid, it has to be funded. If anything goes wrong and they have not made good on their check, it voids the reprot.

Josh,

I would call them up, and just say that you received word from your bank that their cheque bounced, and that you would like to drop over and pick up a new cheque. And them ask them when it would be convient to do so.

You can always file a claim in small claims court. I did once and got my fee, filing costs and lost wages (two inspections at a very high rate). :wink:

I didn’t have a bounced check situation, but I extended credit to a lender and they stiffed me - then they paid me. :twisted: