Code of Ethics Question

I am a newer Inspector, (June '09) and business is picking up. I look forward to a time when I can inspect full time, but until then, I also work as a salesman/designer for a local cabinet co.

I have been able to network with several RE agents, some who know me from kitchens that I have worked on.

I agree with the “12 month” rule regarding repairs on inspected properties, but here is my situation.

A RE agent refers a client to me for an inspection and tells the client that he should also talk to me about replacing the kitchen. When I inspect the property, the kitchen in this otherwise mostly well kept property is partially demo’ed and there is extensive and obvious termite damage. Also, the lower level apt. kitchen has been completely removed.

I feel like this is a case where I am not “selling” a kitchen, the customer already knows that they must have it replaced.

Is this a conflict of interest? I want to do the right thing.

Also, I am located in St. Croix, USVI an Island of 50,000. There are very few inspectors and even fewer cabinet shops!

Your thoughts?

Dave Schnur
St. Croix Home Inspections
stcroixhomeinspections.com

Ultimately, you must do what is right for you and allows you to make a living, preferably ethically, serving the small population available to you.

However, a quick read of the Standards of Practice seems to say kitchen appliances and cabinets are specifically excluded from the Stands of Practice inspection. And the Code of Ethics section below (see bold) says if it’s not included in the Standards of Practice inspection, the provision does NOT apply.

Go forth and make a living.

CODE OF ETHICS: