Crawlspace moisture question

Hello

I am an inspector in training with question regarding crawlspace moisture. Are we measuring the moisture content of the framing members, block, etc, or the humidity of the crawlspace air, or both?

Also any recommendations about testing devices for any or all these considerations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Tim

You need tools to measure all of the above. buy good equipment, and take pictures of the readings you find.
Crawlspaces are the most challenging of all to inspect. No one can teach you. YOur best learning tool is experience and evaluation based on how the space is performing. Aged homes can teach you a ton about what not to do.

Your eyes and flashlite and a long thin screwdriver are your most valuable tools for crawlspace. No need for expensive high tech gear. Remember- its a visual non invasive inspection. Look at the foundation for signs of water staining and cracks. Joists for cracks ,plumbers cuts , support and water stains- this is where the screwdriver comes in handy when you see if that tool can go through the wood. Check pipes , insulation etc. if you get any gadget- get a moisture meter for checking those wet or stained joists to see if still wet or prior damage. Plus you need to crawl around in about a dozen plus crawlspaces and then get your own feel for what you think You need tool wise . Its a never ending learning career in my opinion Good luck and welcome

Agreed. I wouldn’t want to take anything expensive into most crawls I encounter. Besides, I usually only have room for a flashlight and poker :slight_smile:

This is a great crawlspace tool box :slight_smile:

Don’t get the folgers one with the crappy lid. It will just keep coming off.