Draw Inspection Marketing and info

Hey guys and gals!

I have been recieveing many questions lately on advise on how to get business from banks to do doing draw inspections for them. So what I have decided to do is go through all of past threads and copy and paste them. This will save me on time. I’m sure it will bring up new questions and lead the thread in new directions. One of the most common questions I recieve is what should I charge? This my friends can only decided by your market area rate and competion so I do not know the answer to that question. I am still learning some prices around the country but I do not claim to be an expert on that.

I hope these past threads help and bring on the questions and I will try to help.

Thanks,
Bobby

I never call. I do all of my business hunting in person. That way I can tell if they are really responsive in using me as a draw inspector. I started by going into the banks and finding out who I needed to talk to (Commercial Lending most of the time). Then I would present myself and what I do. I have a print out with me that details my back ground, experience, and references (a resume more or less). Let them know that you are also a home inspector that should help. Where I live in Chattanooga TN a lot of draw inspectors are appraisers that the banks use to appraise the lots and house plans for the bank before construction begins. In my opinion Appraisers should not be doing draw inspections. Their experise is value of homes not construction. I come from a construction back ground so I know what goes into building a house, small commercial, and residential developements. I also think Home Inspectors have a big advantage over Appraisers b/c you guys know all about houses too. I tell the banks “Look, I know how to build a house. I know all the steps that go into building a house. The appraiser you use does not.”