Former top producing REALTOR reveals two things agents don't want inspectors to do.

As some of you know, I was a top producing REALTOR for many years. Here are the two things real estate agents don’t want inspectors to do:

1. Find defects that aren’t there.
  2. Miss defects that are there.

Number 1 wrecks our sale for no valid reason. No sale, no commission check.

Number 2 wrecks our future referrals from our shared client and may even get us sued. No referrals, no clients. No clients, no sales. No sales … (see #1).

Make a real estate agent happy today… generate an accurate report.

Good and valid points .
Whats missing however is often we must advise clients to exersise caution and have further examination performed by contractors in order to protect both them (their investment) and ourselves from further liability .

Should we minimize the importance of further examination where needed in order to get a continuous source of referrals ?

Just load up on insurance ?

There is a fine line especially with older buildings and past methods vs improvements .
Relaying significance is a bit of a fine art not taught here.

I’m personally not a fan of constantly recommending that every defect discovered be examined further by someone else.

I might have made such a recommendation a dozen times at most, in my entire career.

Example?

But won’t I get sued??? How can anyone expect me to step out there and make a professional judgment??? Not me I’m there to walk around, create a fancy looking digital report, cash my check and have the experts in the trades come in and cover my but. Oh yeah… Then come here and spout how awesome and thorough I am and discuss all of the "secret " ways I market but fail to share details as someone might steal my ideas and find my kinda success as well… Now I get it!!!

You know , “double tap breaker, need repair by qualified/licensed Electrician” when the breaker is a double pole with one wire in each tap.