hat's the deal about ASHI?

I am fairly new in the inspection buisness, and I have discovered that many of the offices around my area, mainly Coldwell Banker, won’t even consider you if you are not ashi certifed. The make no considerations for any other orginazations at all. Obviously someone long before me has convinced all the old bitties that is the only way. Any feedback?

Old story but common. ASHI has brainwashed the agents into thinking that they are the only ones out there. As a former CB agent myself, I highly suspect that there is some very high up relationship between CB and ASHI as well, that goes beyond brainwashing. But that is just my own personal suspicion.

You will need to market yourself and your services very well. And come up with a good comeback for when you are asked if you are “ASHI”.

The one that I use here that seems to work pretty well is…

Q: Are you ASHI?
A: Well, no I a am not. I am a member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors. That is another organization.

Q: What is the difference?
A: Well in regards to the standards of practice, not much. We pretty much inspect the same things. Even though I know ASHI is very predominant in the minds of agents here in the area, I chose InterNACHI because of the membership requirements. Since I had known about ASHI before, I went there first, and when I discovered that all it took to be an ASHI member was to write them a check, I was a little put off. I wanted my certification to actually mean something from day one. InterNACHI wouldn’t even let me fill out an application until I had proven myself by taking their basic test.

Alternate answer I sometimes use…

Q: I’ve never heard of InterNACHI before, what’s the differece?