New inspector

Hello I’m a new inspector and haven’t done an inspection yet. I was trying to get info on what should I charge for an inspection on a 2000 sqft house that is built in 2007 and has natural gas hook up? If anyone could give me any kind of advice too I’ll deffinently take it… Thank you

Do a local internet search to find what the going rate is in your area.
How much do skilled trades charge customers for labor? eg shop labor at new car dealer?
To make money your hourly rate should be at least double the wage of a skilled worker, eg mechanic gets 30 bucks an hour, you should be charging at least 60 because, if an inspection takes 3 hours you also have to budget 3+ hours for related time you won’t have to do anything else, such as getting there, writing the report, marketing etc…

Having said that, the most important number is whatever the going rate in your area is. It doesn’t much matter what guys 100 miles away or across the country charge. You are the new guy, what can you offer that the other guys can’t? Maybe its only a few bucks less.

Hi Matthew,

I hope you meant to say " you’ve never performed an inspection for $$. Before I started I did 5 mock inspections, on my house, Relative & friends houses just to get an idea of how to make it flow. So my advice to you would be, if you haven’t yet performed any inspections, for a fee or otherwise, decline the inspection until you have performed a few.

As for a 2k sq ft home on a slab or full basement, my charge would be $425.00.

Add more $$ for detached structures, pools, hot tubs, crawlspaces, Radon test.

http://www.nachi.org/fee-calculator.htm

Where are u located

Hi Matthew, can you fill in your profile information so we know where you’re from?

I would keep your fee on the lower end of the scale to start with as you’re the new guy on the block and once you get your feet wet you can start sliding that up incrementally.