price and termite insp.

Help me here guys. I am just starting in my home inspection business. Today an agent called me for a job. She had a short sale and claimed to have a guy to inspect and include a termite inspection for$ 275.00 I agreed to go down to $250.00 explaining that as an inspector I can identify and reccomend treatment. Im not sure if Florida has any special qualification for this (Termite). At the end of the conversation she still made it sound like the job was mine if I came in at $200.00 The house is 2650 sq. ft. of living space. I felt like she was just trying for a cheep price. I Declined, however I still dont know how to price out a job. Ive been told .15 per sq. ft. This will put the house at $390.00 ANY ADVICE

$390 would have been much more reasonable - not including the termite inspection. $250 is rediculous!

And at $200 you should have laughed at her.

Agree!!!

OK then is there a formula for pricing?

If you take your query to the members-only sections, you may get a better response.

thanks bro

Mike

The Real Estate agent is pulling your leg and trying to get you to work for nothing!

In New Hampshire…$390.00 for a 2,650 SF home inspection WITHOUT a termite inspection is about average!

I am a Certified WDI inspector… Termite inspections alone for a small home are around $275- $350.00
{The legal liability is tremendous and even Certified WDI Inspectors are sued on a regular basis!}

PS:
The majority of my Home inspections range from a low of $350.00 to $850.00 or higher.

I agreed to go down to $250.00 explaining that as an inspector I can identify and reccomend treatment.

Unless you are a CPO or work for a CPO you cannot do this. You are asking for a hefty fine if you get caught doing your own termite inspections in Florida

WOW…most WDO around here are $75.00 all day long!