2.4. Heating
II. The inspector is not required to:
B. inspect fuel tanks or underground or concealed fuel supply
systems.

2.6. Plumbing
I. The inspector shall:
H. describe any visible fuel storage systems;

No conflict.

One is concealed and the other is visible.

Do you see this as a conflict?

2.4. Heating
II. The inspector is not required to:
B. inspect fuel tanks

That fuel tank in that statement is not buried.
The placement of the words “underground” and “concealed” are important.

Still no conflict IMHO.

I can describe a 100lb. Propane tank as being the fuel source but I am not required to inspect it.

I don’t inspect gasoline and diesel tanks on a farm either.

ditto

I see the distinction between “identifying” a component, “describing” the component" and “inspecting” its condition.

Personally, as an inspector, I did not limit myself to doing just one. For every component and system, I often found myself doing all three simultaneously. I saw no value to my client in doing just one without the two.

ben-gromicko-deteriorated-rusted-flaking-leg-of-oil-storage-tank.jpg ben-gromicko-deteriorated-rusted-flaking-leg-of-oil-storage-tank-2.jpg

For example (using above pictures of a fuel tank):
According to the SOP, I am required to identify and describe the fuel tank, but I’m not required to inspect it.

Correct?

ben-gromicko-deteriorated-rusted-flaking-leg-of-oil-storage-tank.jpg

ben-gromicko-deteriorated-rusted-flaking-leg-of-oil-storage-tank.jpg

You are to describe it, but are not required to report on its condition.

According to the SOP, I agree that is what it appears to say. I see the dilemma that Ben is pointing out though. How do you describe it, if you aren’t somehow inspecting it?

By simple noting the fuel type and storage tank location.

You have to look at (or in your clients eyes, “inspect”) it to note it.

I can describe Mark Nahrgang by reading to you his resume and showing you his picture.