Transportation

I am new to NACHI but have been in the construction industry as a project manager for over 30 years. I am just starting my business and as yet do not have a truck. I will get one in the near future. Is there a big disadvantage to using a car instead of a truck? Yes, I can fit a small folding ladder in my car because it has fold-down seats.

Whatever works for you, as long as you provide a complete, accurate, unbiased inspection for your clients. I wouldn’t care if a plumber used a scooter, as long as he did his job.

I know a guy who’s inspection vehicle is a BMW. My next ride will probably be a Prius thanks to Chairman Obama’s gas prices.

Does anybody carry a 24’ ladder?

I have a truck , extended cab, but the bed is only around 6’ in length. A few times people ask me, when I pull up, if I have a ladder assuming because the bed is shorter I must not. Actually I carry three ladders. Two Gorilla ladders (in the bed of the truck) and an Xtend & Climb (located in the cab) all used for different things. I fill my cab and bed with ladders etc. so I need the room.

If the vehicle you drive has folding down seats and you can fit a ladder/s and equipment you need I don’t think it matters what you drive.

Your vehicle will often set the “first impression” for your client, regardless of its functionality. If you pulled up in a sedan, I would be wondering if this is your profession or a weekend hobby.

Yes, I do, and as soon as I figure out how to mount it to a Smartcar or a Fiat 500, I’m off to replace my low mpg SUV!!! :wink:

I use my 07 Camry. My 16’ Krause ladder (Folds up several times) fits in my trunk and I get 32 MPG. :slight_smile:

That’s where the complexities of proper ladder mounting comes in… aka… Nerf bars!!! :twisted: