Hot PICs: NACHI's Joe Farsetta speaks at NY State HI Advisory Council meeting.

http://www.nachi.org/nystatehi2007.htm

This has been an ongoing issue for New York home inspectors with that states PE’s for well over 10 years.

As an example - If nobody but a PE can state something is defective, are their A/C contractors PE’s. If not how can they state the compressor is grounded and defective OR do they use wording like - “the wall of the A/C unit is blown out, there is foul smelling rancid oil on the ground, my test meter indicates the unit is grounded AND I’m of the opinion IT MAY BE DEFECTIVE”.

This is too humorous.

Point of ettiquette. I’m not a doctor, but I saw an 18 wheeler hit a deer. The head was on the left side of the highway, the body on the right side. I was totally comfortable saying “the deer is dead”. Gosh I hope they don’t charge me with practicing medicine without a license.

By the way, there are at least 45 engineering degrees I’m aware of and over half don’t have anything to do with a house or building, etc. Yet they have earned the right to be PE’s because their degree in **Computer Software Design, etc **says so. I’ve either acted as a PE’s expert witness **OR **attacked a PE’s credibility 23 times in 6 years. To date we’ve not lost.

Did I know more engineering than they did - no! Bottom line they didn’t do an engineering analysis or study - they did a visual home inspection AND I knew more about that, and was better at it than they were.

Custodial Engineer
Domestic "
Pharmacutical "
Railroad " (LOL)

"A truck stuck the dwelling. Inertia allowed the truck to inflict some damage, resulted in an opening through the siding, framing elements, and interior finish material. The Inspector was able to watch television from the side yard through the 14’ wide opening. "

“The house APPEARED to have a material defect. Inspector recommends contacting a licensed professional engineer to confirm that the opening in question is, in fact, a defect.”