3 6x6's Used for Deck Posts

This deck has posts made of 6x6’s nailed together and had metal tack plates to keep the joists from splitting. It just didn’t feel right. Is this legit? Photo is attached.

Fine.

Least of your worries!
Joist end is only allowed a D/4 notch. Basically, you have 2x4 joists!

Assuming proper hardware/fasteners are utilized.

Am I missing something? I don’t see any 6x6’s.

Your not alone.

Did this after too long a day! Post made up of 3 2X8’s! More wood than a 6 x 6 but seemed they might separate, is this better or worse than a solid 6 x 6? Notch is clearly more than 1/4 depth…some joists are splitting at the point of attachment…I did wonder about those metal reinforcements perpendicular along he length of the joists. This deck has been standing for 10 years. What do I recommend?

Okay, I’ve been a carpenter since 1974,and I’ve never seen that before. I would say no go.

Sounds like the guy worked for Cleary buildings. They build barns and such and they do that and sandwich the trusses between them with bolts or bolt it on one side resting on a 2x. But they don’t cut the joists like that :roll: I’d say after ten years that it maybe starting to fail if the joists are cracking.

Other thing in question is wood species. The joists appear to me to be cedar which is not approved at the same span or load levels as SPF would be. Here generally no cedar would be used as joist framing or support material under 2x10 dimension.
On the other hand the joists appear to be engineered with assembly plates allowing the notching while keeping the joist tied together? very unusual construction.
the 2x6 beam would not meet any but the shortest span load requirements I would question the construction as advising the client to check for building permits and sign off on final inspection of exterior deck.

based on pic imo
kiss & cya
“client should request all prior installation & repair documents & a competent deck contractor should review & repair as required”