stucco inspection

although I have been doing inspections for several years now, I haven’t had to inspect a house with a stuuco exterior. Could someone tell me how to determine stucco vs EIFS or synthetic stucco Thanks Tim

Easiest way is to pull a light fixture or exterior plug cover.

Look under the bottom edge.

Tap on the wall EIFS sounds hollow stucco for the most part does not.

For starters.

Or start here

Want to know why your house is leaking?

Here

Carl, here are some pictures from the house I talked with you about yesterday. Thanks again.

CIMG0395.JPG

CIMG0391.JPG

CIMG0390.JPG

From where I sit that looks like stucco with paint.

Post those in the other and we will see what peewee has to say.

Does it have weepscreed?

No weep. The file is too large for the other. but I think I was attaching several pics. I will attach single pics.

Metal casing bead?

No access. Didn’t see anything. Don’t know of you can tell by the pics, but the finish is below grade, and where I can see the wall terminate, it sits on stem wall, almost flush with it. Again, nothing but the finish is visible

Here’s a twist. The house has an original guest house, with one coat and weep. Felt different too. Much harder than main house with that solid feeling instead of hollow.

Carl is a big help on these issues.
Check out his web site , if you have not yet.

I think he is up for website of the month.

I agree…Looks like a one coat brown and Texture job.Not much can be done to repair ths cracks.A very heavy coat of elastomeric paint can help besides tearing it off and starting over.

Thank you peewee. What is the deal with the flex upon pushing the wall? I couldn’t imagine the attachment is very strong.

Look up under the bottom termination. If you see white foam, it’s EIFS. If you don’t, it’s probably hardcoat stucco but not definitely. Watch for the InterNACHI course in this subject coming out on video in late December or early January.