Trip hazards

The finished floor in the master bath was 3" higher than the master bedroom. Is there any specific langauge in the IRC that talks about trip hazards? Would you write this up?

P1280628.JPG

I can’t find anything in the Code, but I would definitely call it “bad practice”. I would think that at least a tapered threshold should be installed, if the floor levels indeed must be different.

I was always taught to use either three risers or no risers in a stairway, and maybe this isn’t exactly a “stairway”, but the principle remains the same. If less than three risers were called for, I was taught to use a ramp and not steps. Maybe a full-fledged ramp isn’t sensible here, but certainly a fairly wide tapered threshold is a better solution than a three-inch step.

If I were an inspector (I’m not, I’m only an architect), I’d write it up in a similar fashion.

My understanding of a trip hazard is where there is a difference in the floor height where one should not exist by original design. For example, a crack in the middle of a patio or sidewalk in which the patio or sidewalk is now raised 1/4 inch or more. A patio or sidewalk should not have raised sections where it should be and is expected to be smooth. Things like this example where there is a step up to the bathroom are done by design and purposely intended. While it may not be the smartest idea, I wouldn’t call it a trip hazard. Do you call the 4 inch step up from the garage to the house a trip hazard? If the floor between the bathroom and adjoining room was intended to be level but settlement or heaving or whatever caused it to be unlevel, then that’s a trip hazard.

Why would you need to know the code, just for personal reference I assume.

How old was the house? If this was an addition they may have had no other choice, similar to some cases in a garage where the material under the slab or the slab itself was not brought up high enough and a small landing or step was installed to make up the difference.