Go Back   InterNACHI Inspection Forum > Specific Inspection Topics > Electrical Inspections

Notices

Electrical Inspections Contains discussions about electrical systems. This includes receptacles, panels, wiring, etc.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 1/25/06, 7:18 AM
Andy T. Bishop Andy T. Bishop is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 323
Default 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Hey, i have a question for all you pros. If you have the bathroom on a 20amp circuit breaker with 12-2 wire, does the outlets have to be 20 amp outlets or is it ok to use 15 amp outlets? I understand the 20 amp outlet has a horizontal added plug for 20 amp tools. Is it code or what?
Thanks
Andy Bishop
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1/25/06, 7:28 AM
David P. Valley's Avatar
David P. Valley David P. Valley is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: METHUEN, MA
Posts: 8,765
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Andy,

The National Electrical Code, in article 210.21 (B) 1, 2, and 3, describes the requirements of single and multiple receptacles on a circuit.

The use of multiple 15 amp receptacles on a 20 amp circuit is permitted. A duplex receptacle is considered as multiple receptacles and is therefore permissible to use as the single, or one of several, multiple type receptacles on the circuit.

Part of the UL listing for the 15 amp receptacles is that they are capable of feeding through the 20 amp circuit, the primary difference between 15 and 20 amp receptacles being the faceplate configuration.

Receptacles rated higher than the circuit rating may not be used, so 20 amp receptacles are not permitted on a 15 amp circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1/25/06, 7:44 AM
David P. Valley's Avatar
David P. Valley David P. Valley is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: METHUEN, MA
Posts: 8,765
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

One 15 Amp receptacle on a 20 Amp circuit is a no-no.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1/25/06, 8:38 AM
Andy T. Bishop Andy T. Bishop is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 323
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Thanks Dave, that helps. What about this ONE thing. So if you had a bathroom with one outlet, you can't have that on a 20 amp circuit? But can you run 12-2 and have a 15 amp breaker and 15 amp outlet?

I and some friends just wired up my buddies lower level/basement. I have 20 amp on the bathroom and wet bar, seperate circuits. We put the two bathroom outlets on the same circuit as the bedroom outlets. The lights are on a 15 amp circuit and also the outlets in the main living room and lights are 15 amp but seperate circuits. I think i did that right?
Thanks
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1/25/06, 10:50 AM
Greg Fretwell Greg Fretwell is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Estero Florida
Posts: 1,795
Please Note: Greg Fretwell is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Bathrooms, laundries and kitchens(pantry dining room etc) require 20 amp receptacle circuits with no other outlets. You can't serve other rooms from these circuits.
You can put a duplex 15a receptacle device on a 20a circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1/25/06, 1:36 PM
David P. Valley's Avatar
David P. Valley David P. Valley is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: METHUEN, MA
Posts: 8,765
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Andy,

All set?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1/25/06, 2:01 PM
Andy T. Bishop Andy T. Bishop is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 323
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

One confused piece is, can i or can i not have the bathroom outlets (2) on the same circuit as two bedrooms?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1/25/06, 2:04 PM
David P. Valley's Avatar
David P. Valley David P. Valley is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: METHUEN, MA
Posts: 8,765
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

No!

Bathrooms must be on their own circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1/25/06, 2:08 PM
Larry Kage, CMI Larry Kage, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NW, MI
Posts: 11,505
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Quote:
Originally Posted by abishop
One confused piece is, can i or can i not have the bathroom outlets (2) on the same circuit as two bedrooms?
I believe that would be a no.

Up a few posts, Greg said: "You can't serve other rooms from these circuits."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1/25/06, 2:35 PM
Andy T. Bishop Andy T. Bishop is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 323
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Yes, i heard that i just choose not to hear it.
Now i have to run another wire all the way accross to the other side of the house for the bedroom outlets! DAMN!
You guys are the best.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1/25/06, 4:31 PM
Greg Fretwell Greg Fretwell is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Estero Florida
Posts: 1,795
Please Note: Greg Fretwell is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

You probably have to put that bedroom on an AFCI anyway (if you are on 1999 or later code and 210.12 (B) is not excluded) so it is not a total waste
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1/26/06, 6:37 PM
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI's Avatar
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI Paul W. Abernathy, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 8,571
Send a message via Skype™ to pabernathy
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Keep in mind now you can have a single 20A circuit feeding ALL the bathrooms in the house....as long as it only feeds the bathroom receptacles...

So in closing...if you have a house with 3 bathrooms...you can have one 20A circuit feeding the first bathroom, then looping to the recept. in the next bathroom and so on to the 3rd bathroom....BUT only those recepts can be on that circuit....

Hope that clears that up for you.



Paul W. Abernathy
Manager, Electrical Codes & Standards
Encore Wire Corporation

Disclaimer - All my posts on this forum are of my own personal opinion and in no way represent the opinions of Encore Wire, associations, organizations or affiliations.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1/26/06, 8:00 PM
rmoewe's Avatar
rmoewe rmoewe is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 145
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Quote:
Originally Posted by pabernathy
Keep in mind now you can have a single 20A circuit feeding ALL the bathrooms in the house....as long as it only feeds the bathroom receptacles...

So in closing...if you have a house with 3 bathrooms...you can have one 20A circuit feeding the first bathroom, then looping to the recept. in the next bathroom and so on to the 3rd bathroom....BUT only those recepts can be on that circuit....

Hope that clears that up for you.
But if you only have one bathroom on a curcit it can run everything, but the spa-tub. Is this not correct?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1/26/06, 8:35 PM
dspencer's Avatar
dspencer dspencer is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marengo, Oh
Posts: 178
Please Note: dspencer is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

spa is deicated...also GFCI and the GFCI can not be within reach of tub!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1/27/06, 8:28 AM
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI's Avatar
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI Paul W. Abernathy, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 8,571
Send a message via Skype™ to pabernathy
Default Re: 20 amp with 15 amp outlets

Richard....that is correct.....kinda in a nutshell without getting too specific and causing brain freeze.

Just for the record...Darren can you show me the code section on that reference?



Paul W. Abernathy
Manager, Electrical Codes & Standards
Encore Wire Corporation

Disclaimer - All my posts on this forum are of my own personal opinion and in no way represent the opinions of Encore Wire, associations, organizations or affiliations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ungrounded outlets! gmaher Electrical Inspections 29 6/10/07 10:58 PM
Properly Testing GFCI Outlets tchristopher Electrical Inspections 17 3/17/07 11:19 AM
Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets kshepard Electrical Inspections 7 6/24/06 6:58 AM
Two prong outlets and GFCI's crichiii Electrical Inspections 8 3/15/06 10:41 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 9:24 PM.
no new posts