Any comments

Electric panel at 1 of today’s inspections…any comments?
As always, thanks!

100_7072 (Small).JPG

100_7071 (Small).JPG

Nice 200 amp PushMatic. Neutral/ground bar could use a little bit of tidying up.

That was the only note I made on this panel, about the neutral bar…Just like to get an expert opinion now & then to back me up.

thanks…

I’m fairly new at this, but aren’t the neutral wires and the ground wires suppose to be on separate bars (in a perfect world of course)? And what about a neutral and a ground sharing the same lug? Doesn’t this create the potential for a hot ground?

Please tell me you’re not a home inspector.

I see at least one double tapped neutral, some marginally secured neutral and ground wires, and a little bit of rust. It is not as tidy as it could be.

ehyde, the neutral and ground wires are only separated in sub panels. In the service equipment (main panel) the neutrals and grounds generally share the same bus bar(s), and if they are sparated, they must be bonded together. I have never heard of the term “hot ground”.

Waiter…There seems to be a bunch of screws in my electrical box full of spaghetti!!!

Are you in here to share your pearls of wisdom or to insult the electronically challenged? If you’re going to post a reply, make it helpful. Thanks.

Pretty demanding, aren’t you, of a guy who otherwise gives of his time freely? I try to give helpful responses at all times, buy you’re reply in this thread begged the response I gave you. I’m not sure how you could inspect without this very fundamental understanding already mastered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehyde
If you’re going to post a reply, make it helpful. Thanks.

I sure appreciate Marc’s help and know how great a help he has been to so many .
It is obvious you Mr. Hyde are reasonably new to our web site and we welcome you but
please do not belittle those who have been posting for a lot longer then you
( 680 to 20) and give so much information and their time.