Electrician responds

I inspected a small home that was remodeled by a church and friends. My main concerns were undersized wiring in the main panel, a neutral wire used as a hot leg and then the service panel that was 200 amp (a replacement during the remodel) on what I felt was 100 amp service leads. I told them if the licensed electrician certified in writing that the panel and service was indeeed correct and the other items were corrected, I would come back and check when completed.

This is the response from the electrician as written,
the 200 amp main in the panel simply acts as a disconnecting means and is not the means of over current protection for the electric service. the over current protection is in the meter base outside the home in the form of a 100 amp main breaker which is appropriatly sized for the service entrance wire. the panel and service entrance wire are protected by that 100 amp main breaker.

Now I’m not an electrician and always look to be educated were I lack some knowledge, but I feel that this is an incorrect statement.
Constructive Comments please.

So its a sub panel inside protected by the 100 amp breaker outside. I agree with the electrician.

Juan,
Why would you upgrade the panel to a 200 amp unit, load up the panel with circuits, and still have the 100 amp service wires installed from the meter?

Steven

Do you have any pictures of the panels in question?

I don’t know why they did it that way but the only possible issue is if the 200 amp breaker isn’t rated for the size of the conductor. Its properly protected from the main breaker though.

Got pic’s on inside and out?
My concern is the statement above in RED
Meter bases should be sealed. If the ocp needed resetting, how is the homeowner/tenant supposed to accomplish that?
Need more info!

It sounds like that an upgrade was what they had in mind without the proper implementation.