Fused meter disconnect

There is always something new on each inspection.:smiley: Today for the first time for my twelve years as a home inspector I saw an electrical meter located in the basement and protected by fused disconnect. Personally I don’t see anything wrong with this arrangement but since this is the first time for me I decided to get other opinions on this issue. So what do you think?:slight_smile:

261 Centre St. N (76) (Small).JPG

261 Centre St. N (87) (Small).JPG

261 Centre St. N (81) (Small).JPG

261 Centre St. N (84) (Small).JPG

Well I think you have a problem because your service equipment and remote distribution panel are wired incorrectly. Right?

I’ll defer my opinion to one of our experts as I have never seen a disconnect before the meter. Otherwise, my gut tells me this would normally be considered all parts of the service equipment.

The 100 amp breaker is back-fed and is required to be fastened in place.

Thanks Jeff, I’m glad that I’m not the only one who runs into something for the first time.:smiley: I couldn’t find anything in electrical code either regarding this connection. Other than “double protection” I don’t see what this arrangement will do. I think that electrician got lazy and instead of replacing everything “as needed” performed just “quick upgrade”.:slight_smile:

Not allowed to easy to get free hydro with a pair of jumpers.

This setup would make it easy for growups…

Well, possibly, although meeting the owners that live there for more than 25 years I doubt it. Anyone can convert anything into growups if desired.:smiley:

At least in my experience the unfused and unmetered conductors should be behind a tamperproof seal. The meter after the disconnect is unorthodox also.

Actually…I looked at this on my IPAD versus my phone. It’s actually a strange setup. The GEC should be in that Disconnect or some point ahead of it. Also the MBJ should be in that disconnect as well…but I just can’t see it well enough.