Go Back   InterNACHI Inspection Forum > Specific Inspection Topics > Electrical Inspections

Notices

Electrical Inspections Contains discussions about electrical systems. This includes receptacles, panels, wiring, etc.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 6/18/06, 6:12 PM
Kenton Shepard, CMI's Avatar
Kenton Shepard, CMI Kenton Shepard, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via ICQ to kshepard
Default Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

I know this has been discussed many times but I can't get the search engine to work for me...
Can anyone give me a link to a good massage board discussion on replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets?

Thanks,

Kent
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6/18/06, 6:28 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 51,775
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

Try this.
Attached Thumbnails
replacing-2-prong-outlets-gfci-outlets-2-wire.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6/18/06, 6:31 PM
whandley's Avatar
whandley whandley is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 2,091
Please Note: whandley is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

Try this one...

http://www.cpsc.gov/CPSCPUB/PUBS/524.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6/18/06, 6:40 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 51,775
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

Here is a recent thread on the issue.

http://www.nachi.org/forum/f19/need-help-new-service-old-wiring-5111/index2.html



As a Professional Home Inspector, I support the privacy of my clients.

For more information click Trustyourinspector.ORG


www.InspectraPro.com
www.MinnesotaHomeInspector.biz

Michael Larson
Hudson, WI

Services provided in East MN and West WI

Call me

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6/18/06, 6:41 PM
Kenton Shepard, CMI's Avatar
Kenton Shepard, CMI Kenton Shepard, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via ICQ to kshepard
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

I'm hoping to find a discussion on how well it actually works, since there's no grounding conductor and the GFCI is often only grounded (if at all) to the ungrounded box in which it's mounted.

Also, in this situation, does the upstream GFCI protect outlets downstream if the downstream outlets have been changed out to 3-prong and grounded to their (ungrounded) boxes?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6/18/06, 11:14 PM
Bruce A. King's Avatar
Bruce A. King Bruce A. King is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: York, SC
Posts: 3,381
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

If wired correctly no ground is needed, the GFCI circuitry only compares the hot and neutral current and trips when necessary. The lost current is assumed to travel to ground through a person but it can travel via wet extension cords or chaffed wires too.

There was some discussion before on here about a new type of GFCI that will require a ground connection to operate.

A connection to a metal box often is not a proper ground when the panel only has 2 wire cables and no metal conduit present.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6/23/06, 6:14 PM
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI's Avatar
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI Paul W. Abernathy, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 8,684
Send a message via Skype™ to pabernathy
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

http://www.nachi.org/forum/f19/2-prong-outlets-narrative-examples-5562/



Paul W. Abernathy
Manager, Electrical Codes & Standards
Encore Wire Corporation

“Promise me you'll always remember: You're braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” -RIP Dad, Love You!....10/10/2014

Disclaimer - All my posts on this forum are of my own personal opinion and in no way represent the opinions of Encore Wire, or other associations, organizations or affiliations.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6/24/06, 6:58 AM
David P. Valley's Avatar
David P. Valley David P. Valley is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: METHUEN, MA
Posts: 8,766
Default Re: Replacing 2-prong outlets with GFCI outlets

Attachment 4278
click to enlarge

Last edited by dvalley; 10/7/07 at 4:42 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Prong Outlets jallingham Electrical Inspections 22 6/27/07 2:07 AM
Properly Testing GFCI Outlets tchristopher Electrical Inspections 17 3/17/07 11:19 AM
GFCI Outlets w/ No Test Button - Dont Work! HELP PLEASE! LiveAd Electrical Inspections 4 6/20/06 10:47 AM
opinions on GFCI outlets for non grounded oputlets jmerritt1 Electrical Inspections 23 5/11/06 7:22 PM
Two prong outlets and GFCI's crichiii Electrical Inspections 8 3/15/06 10:41 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 6:19 AM.
no new posts