Go Back   InterNACHI Inspection Forum > Specific Inspection Topics > Electrical Inspections

Notices

Electrical Inspections Contains discussions about electrical systems. This includes receptacles, panels, wiring, etc.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 7/2/08, 2:36 PM
tlower's Avatar
tlower tlower is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kettering, OH
Posts: 195
Default Splice in service panel

Something just dosn't seem right with this...




Timothy Lower
Centerville, Ohio

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7/2/08, 2:41 PM
tlower's Avatar
tlower tlower is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kettering, OH
Posts: 195
Default Re: Splice in service panel

This may help I blew it up a little. The other pic was a little small.
Attached Thumbnails
splice-service-panel-p7020030.jpg  




Timothy Lower
Centerville, Ohio

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7/2/08, 2:56 PM
tdietrich1's Avatar
tdietrich1 tdietrich1 is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton County - Pa
Posts: 1,953
Send a message via Yahoo to tdietrich1
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Wow!

What is the ocp upstream of that splice?

tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7/2/08, 2:57 PM
Jeffrey R. Pope, CMI's Avatar
Jeffrey R. Pope, CMI Jeffrey R. Pope, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 11,611
Default Re: Splice in service panel

The conductor sizes don't match. What size was the breaker?

Generally, splices within the panel are not a problem, but this one could certainly be an exception.



IF YOUR INSPECTOR IS NOT USING THERMAL IMAGING, YOU'RE NOT GETTING THE WHOLE PICTURE
Jeff Pope
JPI Home Inspection Service
Santa Clarita CA
(661) 212-0738
Santa Clarita Home Inspection
http://www.MyInspector.net


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7/2/08, 3:09 PM
rmaday's Avatar
rmaday rmaday is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Itasca, IL
Posts: 5,192
Please Note: rmaday is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Splice in service panel

What about the 12 grounding conductors under one nut?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7/2/08, 3:15 PM
tlower's Avatar
tlower tlower is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kettering, OH
Posts: 195
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Could not locate the other end. Connected to a 20A breaker. Here's another pic.
Attached Thumbnails
splice-service-panel-p7020029.jpg  




Timothy Lower
Centerville, Ohio

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7/2/08, 3:17 PM
tlower's Avatar
tlower tlower is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kettering, OH
Posts: 195
Default Re: Splice in service panel

This whole panel was an adventure.




Timothy Lower
Centerville, Ohio

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7/2/08, 3:56 PM
Speedy Petey Speedy Petey is offline
Unmoderated Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,295
Please Note: Speedy Petey is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Splice in service panel

I bet a dollar that is an old range circuit converted to a 120v/20A receptacle/circuit for a new gas range. The big #6 does not fit on a 20A breaker so you have to pigtail a piece of #12.

This is done all the time and I think it is stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7/3/08, 12:59 AM
Marc D. Shunk's Avatar
Marc D. Shunk Marc D. Shunk is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,980
Please Note: Marc D. Shunk is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
I bet a dollar that is an old range circuit converted to a 120v/20A receptacle/circuit for a new gas range. The big #6 does not fit on a 20A breaker so you have to pigtail a piece of #12.
I agree. While this is not a "normal" thing to see, it's certainly compliant as it is pictured. Someone repurposed existing heavy gauge wire for use on a 20 amp circuit. They just pigtailed on a piece of #12, as they should have, to get it compliantly landed on a 20 amp breaker. In addition to the range circuit Speedy mentioned, parking lot lights are often done this way too. They'll run something heavy to prevent voltage drop, like some #6, then pigtail on a piece of #12 to land it on the 20 amp breaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
This is done all the time and I think it is stupid.
I dunno. I've done it where it would be too destructive to run a whole new piece of wire.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7/3/08, 6:46 AM
Speedy Petey Speedy Petey is offline
Unmoderated Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,295
Please Note: Speedy Petey is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D. Shunk

I dunno. I've done it where it would be too destructive to run a whole new piece of wire.
I do agree. That's about the only time though.

Quite often we see folks asking how to do this simply to save a few bucks. I say, why canibalize a perfectly good 50A circuit if it is easy to run a new 20A circuit?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 7/3/08, 3:20 PM
tdietrich1's Avatar
tdietrich1 tdietrich1 is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton County - Pa
Posts: 1,953
Send a message via Yahoo to tdietrich1
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D. Shunk
I've done it where it would be too destructive to run a whole new piece of wire.
I did it too. New construction, the plans were for an electric oven. After running the wire, client opted for a gas one. Heck they already paid for the wire, so it became a receptacle for the gas oven.

Also, I know many electricians who have done the same converting over electric stove/ovens to gas, because of rising electric bills.

tom
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 7/3/08, 6:18 PM
Marc D. Shunk's Avatar
Marc D. Shunk Marc D. Shunk is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,980
Please Note: Marc D. Shunk is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
Quite often we see folks asking how to do this simply to save a few bucks. I say, why canibalize a perfectly good 50A circuit if it is easy to run a new 20A circuit?
Agreed. I will always run a new piece if it's pretty easy to do so. Might even be a cost savings in the end. It's sorta a pain in the rear to make a heavy gauge conductor good for 20 amp.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7/5/08, 7:06 PM
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI's Avatar
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI Paul W. Abernathy, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 8,610
Send a message via Skype™ to pabernathy
Default Re: Splice in service panel

lol....now guys just maybe they have a circuit running down to a post light some 250 yards away and they are just solving for voltage drop.......you just never know from a picture...lol



Paul W. Abernathy
Manager, Electrical Codes & Standards
Encore Wire Corporation
* Bring your Wire and Cable Questions...I'll Bring Answers !

Disclaimer - All my posts on this forum are of my own personal opinion and in no way represent the opinions of Encore Wire, associations, organizations or affiliations.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7/5/08, 8:43 PM
Marc D. Shunk's Avatar
Marc D. Shunk Marc D. Shunk is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,980
Please Note: Marc D. Shunk is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Splice in service panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by pabernathy
lol....now guys just maybe they have a circuit running down to a post light some 250 yards away and they are just solving for voltage drop.......you just never know from a picture...lol
Yeah, we already talked about that. Better late than never, though.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 7/6/08, 9:34 AM
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI's Avatar
Paul W. Abernathy, CMI Paul W. Abernathy, CMI is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 8,610
Send a message via Skype™ to pabernathy
Default Re: Splice in service panel

lol....sorry Marc....Been kinda busy on late....lol



Paul W. Abernathy
Manager, Electrical Codes & Standards
Encore Wire Corporation
* Bring your Wire and Cable Questions...I'll Bring Answers !

Disclaimer - All my posts on this forum are of my own personal opinion and in no way represent the opinions of Encore Wire, associations, organizations or affiliations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with main panel board buss bar smcintire Electrical Inspections 63 1/8/08 5:55 PM
Service Panel Quiz? hmcclard Electrical Inspections 5 10/24/07 11:53 PM
Metal Rigid or PVC Rigid what is code bpotts Electrical Inspections 5 12/4/06 2:40 PM
Bad electrical problem Pest Guy Electrical Inspections 4 1/20/06 9:26 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 7:29 PM.
no new posts