Updated panel 200 amps most outlets two pronged?

I recently put in an offer on on a house that had an updated electrical panel (200 amps) but a majority of the outlets in the house were of the older two pronged variety. I have not opened up any outlets to see what type of wires were in there i.e. ground wire.

What am I looking at cost wise if there is only black and white and no ground wire in the boxes (probably 5 on first floor and 5 on second floor)? Also, what would I be looking at if there were three wires upon closer inspection? Thanks for your help!

How many wires were entering the service panel?

I’m just beginning to learn about these things so I have no idea. First time home buyer. My Home Inspector stated 200 hundred amps. There are some 3 pronged outlets in the house but many 2. I’m just trying to figure out what kind of work will be needed to upgrade these receptacles. I’m not able to get back into the house until final walk through.

On the report did the inspector indicate if the 2 and 3 pronged rec. were grounded? Did it say false or open ground?

What type of wiring was noted in the report?

As for as upgrading. You can either re-wire the entire home. Expensive. Alternative, replace the rec. with GFCI’s.

There are some very qualified electricians that should be around later that will be able to give you some help.

We have no idea where you live, and what the economical structure may be. Prices vary all over the country drastically.

Your best bet is to call in a local electrician for a “free estimate”.

The inspector may have simply determined a ground was not present based on the 2 pronged outlet, and no one here knows what the condition may be, how old the wiring is, what type of wiring.