A/C Evaporator in Garage?

I just did my first mock home inspection. The house has a split A/C unit in the garage (as well as a separate unit for upstairs). It cools the garage and has vents into the apartment attached on the same floor. Is this OK? Specifically having the air intake in the garage?

Thanks. Be nice, I’m a newbie :slight_smile:

No openings are allowed in the garage - no distribution, no intake.

Thanks, that’s what I thought. Owner said a professional A/C company just installed it 6 mos ago. I take it no inspection necessary for A/C’s, and the installers just put it where the owners wanted it? This is in Key Largo, Fl, Monroe County.

Check with the local AHJ. If they say its OK, ask for the reply in writing–then you’ve done all you can.

Even if it was “approved” by the AHJ, it should be called out as a safety hazard - because it’s wrong.

There are instances where the distribution system can supply the garage, but I have never seen it done properly. There are no instances (that I’m aware of) where the intake can be from the garage while servicing the residence.

Huh?

I wonder why people pay to have home inspections in jurisdictions where the AHJ has already signed off on the building/remodelling permits.

First of all, AHJ’s are not there to determine what is “right” or what is “safe”. They are there to determine if the city/county bare minimum standard has been met.

Second, the home inspection report is written to benefit the party commissioning it, usually the buyer. In that regard, the inspector has a duty to his client to make recommendations that often exceed the bare minimums normally addressed by local codes.

Third, the AHJ has no liability for his decision to the client. He can be wrong and the client can be harmed…but the AHJ is free from all liability. Not so with the contractor who did the work that “conformed” or the inspector who went along with the AHJ’s call.