A/C or Heat Pump

I’m just starting out. Can anyone tell me if there is a sure (easy) way to tell if a heat pump is installed?

Jim Look at the condenser and look for the Reversing valve, and likley the thermostat will give you a hint.
Maybe take the nachi Course http://www.nachi.org/hvaccourse.htm

In our climate the heat pump is always up off the ground to accomodate dripping and ice underneath. Also to keep it above the snow. They are typically about 1 foot off the ground on a stand.

reversvalve.jpg

reversvalve.jpg

Thanks Wayne. Very helpful. I will take the course. And thanks for the photo.

Thanks as well Keith another very useful bit of info.

The id tag usually states ‘Heat Pump’

Running the heat, the condenser will be running.

Thermostat will have an “emergency” or “auxiliary” heat mode. Caveat: some heat pumps have been incorrectly installed with a traditional thermostat, and that would be wrong.

Another indication is three ports to hook up the Freon gauges.

Where are you from?

http://www.midtninspections.com/blog?page=2

They all don’t note “Heat Pump” on the data plate.

Thermostat should have an emergency/axillary heat option (but don’t bank on it)!

Not all three ports are visible without pulling the unit apart.

Running in heat may not energize the outdoor unit (there is no condenser on a heat pump).

There is not always an accumulator.

As Wayne posted, look into the fan grill and look for the reversing valve.
That is the only sure way.

We use “refrigerant gauges”, Freon is a manufacturer not the gas in the unit.

Man, you sound like a “glass that’s half empty” type of person between what you just wrote and that article.

Air conditioning for residential is not an exact science and many methods I’ve seen used (that are a lot faster) puts those freon level and temperature drop right in that range.