Go Back   InterNACHI Inspection Forum > Specific Inspection Topics > Inspecting HVAC Systems

Notices

Inspecting HVAC Systems Topics include heating, venting, and air conditioning inspections.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 5/18/07, 10:40 AM
InterNACHI Member

Default Gravity Furnace

I got a call from agentleman who has a "Gravity feed furnace". In 10 years of being a contractor, I've never seen one. Anyone have any info on them and how to inspect it? I have a heating contractor who will look at it with me, but I hate to have to pay him for it.
Old 5/18/07, 11:00 AM
InterNACHI Member

Default Re: Gravity Furnace

Ken,

You're going to run into an ancient furnace that looks similar to this...

"Click to Enlarge"
Attachment 11643

Gravity furnaces are only found in much older homes. They are usually covered in asbestos and are generally in a basement.

The term gravity refers to the fact that the furnace doesn't have a blower fan to move the heated air around a room. They rely on the fact that heated (less dense) air rises and the cooler (more dense) air falls to circulate the heat.

When I inspect gravity furnaces (which a few and far between) with no obvious defects, I always annotate the following, in my report...

The heating system was paced through itís normal sequence of operating modes, with no obvious defects noted at time of inspection. However, due to systems age,it is clearly beyond itís life expectancy, and replacement should be considered. Until then, I recommend annual maintenance from a licensed HVAC contractor.

Last edited by dvalley; 10/7/07 at 5:40 PM..
Old 5/18/07, 11:10 AM
InterNACHI Member

David, I live in Illinois and we have a lot of older homes here. I run into these monsters more times than I care to. I think the reply on your report is spot on and do you mind if I use it?
Randy
Old 5/18/07, 11:15 AM
InterNACHI Member

Many people affectionately referr to them as the "Octopus".