Hot Liquid Line on AC

Hey Guys-

I’ve searched for awhile now trying to find an answer for this and have yet to find anything substantial…so please forgive me if this is an elementary question. On todays inspection the liquid line for the AC was pretty hot. The suction line was beer can frosty but the liquid line was like coffee cup hot (to keep the drink analogy going). Everything I’ve read says warm not hot. Does hot indicate a problem? Thanks.

Kenny

And by the way the outside temperature was in the mid 80s.

See this thread, I agree with one of those posters, not enough information

If the Temperture was 80 then the liquid line would be approx 110 to `115 . Depending on what refrigerant it was and if the coil was clean and so on and so on.

So a hot line is not a clear indicator of a problem? If I knew exactly what more information to provide, I could try. But I use the KISS method when checking the HVAC as I’m not an expert in it. I didn’t stick my thermometer on there to check the temperature of it so I can’t say for certain. From my past experience, even on 100+ days, the liquid line has always been warm, but not hot like this. It’s not like it was scalding hot, but it was hot enough I wouldn’t want to hang onto it for more than a few seconds.

How was it cooling, did it have a variable speed condenser fan motor? if it was cooling what was the output temperature. was the air flow good through the coils i see a shrub close by.

Wayne, you’re confusing air discharge at the condenser with liquid line temperature.

Kenny, you do have a problem. The outside coil is dirty. Nothing to get excited about in a home inspection report, just recommend annual servicing.

You should not feel any temperature rise above the temperature of your and when the temperature outdoors is below 95°F, with the indoor air temperature stabilized at 70°F.