Two for One???

I am looking for some enlightment regarding what I found, or at least think I found, on an inspection yesterday. I am relatively new in the business (two + years) and I haven’t run in to this before. House had split AC system with evaporator coil, horizontal-flow furnace & air handler unit in the attic. What has me perplexed is that there are two air conditioner condensing units (ACCU’s) outside for this single system. One ACCU is 1½ ton and the other is a 2½ ton. Is it possible to have two working ACCU’s for a single evap coil? How does this work? I have never seen anything in literature about this arrangement. If anyone out there knows what this is all about, I would appreciate a shout.

Thanks much,
Gary Loughman
Assured Home Inspections, Pllc

Did you see 2 sets of refrigerant lines in the attic? I doubt that a single evap coil would have 2 condensing units in a residential setup. There might be 2 coils in parallel, providing 2 stages of cooling, though. If you didn’t see both sets of refrigerant piping, then there may be a coil at another location for a separate zone.

Jim King

Looking at my digital picture, I am only seeing one set of refrigerant lines at the coil location. This is a small one story place and there is only one zone. Outside , each ACCU has there own refrigerant lines that enter the house going to the attic. I am sorry that I haven’t figured out how to send the picture along with my message.

Gary

Gary,
If two sets of lines are entering the house, and you only saw one set in the attic, then the other set must be going somewhere else. Perhaps to a wall mounted unit in the master bedroom?

Jim

Jim,

No wall units anywhere. I may try to go back and look this over a little better than I did the first time. Because I hadn’t seen anything like this before I should have been more of a detective to find out more about what I was looking at.

Thanks for your help.

Gary