CMU foundation quality

Inadequate mortaring of block has left gaps between some blocks. Maybe 5% to 7% or something like that. this problem is visible on the exterior only. the wall looks fine at the interior. I doubt block is filled. I’ll recommend evaluation by a Structural Engineer unless I have inspectors with masonry backgrounds saying it’s no big deal.

Kenton,

I’m no masonry expert, but I can tell you that if this was my inspection, I would have recommended a professional mason to evaluate and estimate repair to these exterior blocks (shoddy workmanship). They simply need tuck pointing and those retainers can be snapped off while they’re tuck pointing.

Also, on the inside of the garage, the ceiling insulation vapor retarder is exposed (which is a fire issue) and the corner of the garage wall is getting a lot of run off from roof drainage.

Is this a conditioned area?

Why insulate the ceiling and not the walls?

Actually a basement about to be finished out, but with no heat source down there, insulation shold have been istalled with the vapor barrier side up toward the warm side. Mason’s a good call, David. Free, professional evaluation and estimate. Water stains all over those walls.

looks to me like this was prepared to receive a veneer brick. it appears to be corrugated “brick ties” protruding from the cmu which would have tied in the brick course. and it looks like there’s a brick shelf at the foundation to recieve the brick. that’s why the inside, exposed, cmu, is tooled better than the exterior. typically the backup is not finished off as well as an exposed masonry; however, in this case iit might be a little too “not finished”.

Kenton, hope your fine.

The pictures you submitted indicate to me that the building was built and not yet finished.

I have to agree with Andrew on this one with his points well taken.