1-day Illinois State approved Electrical for Inspectors course in Chicago on March 3.

http://www.nachice.com/page/965936

It may be important to note that “state approved” means that this course will apply toward the six CEUs a licensed Illinois inspector will need in a year.

Since NACHI requires four times that many every year, Illinois inspectors are of course able and encouraged to participate in all educational offerings of the association — even those not submitted to the state for CEU consideration.

Right?

That’s correct. But if i am going to pay 4-5 times what my local chapter charges, I think I want some state CE’s for my dollars.

NACHI CE’s are all good. But IL CE’s make sure I keep my license. I know which ones I am more concerned with.

If I was an inspector (I’m not currently), I would choose those courses which were NOT state approved for selfish reasons.

Very good point, Jim.

In Illinois, we must have state approved CE in order to keep out license. We are working to make sure that this required state CE is obtained, at a better quality and a lower price, than from other, non-NACHI sources. And, if the CE is obtained from NACHI, so much the better. And, if non-NACHI members also attend these course (paying a lower price than they usually would) the extra money goes to support and promote NACHI.

The last license, I obtained well in excess of 40 hours of NACHI credit per year (licneses run for two years), but I also obtained more than 50 hours of state CE, most of which was NACHI state approved CE.

The two are not, necessarily, exclusive.

That’s the point.

The number of hours the state of Illinois requires is fairly small, no?

Yes. Only 6 per year.

A NACHI member must still do 18 more hours to fulfill his membership obligation after filling the square for his license requirement. In order to meet both objectives, only 25% of his 24 CEUs need Illinois approval.