Hardware recommendations

Hi,

I’m currently a student and I’m looking to start purchasing equipment for my home inspecting business… I’m curious what others have, use(d) and what they thought of the equipment. For example, I’m looking in to purchasing a ladder… but there’s so many styles and brands… what do you recommend?

1. What brands/models of equipment do you have for your home inspections?

2. What are the pro’s and cons of that brand/model?

Thanks!

Go up top and do a search.
Hate to say it but choice of tools is a personal decision and if you are trained enough to do the job you will know what to buy.

You can do inspections with a minimum of tools or spend 10,000 on a IR camera.
Depends on your business model.

Read this forum everyday for a couple months and you will not have a need to ask.
If doing what I suggest is to time consuming get out of the industry.

Hi Bob,

I actually did that already and it was not helpful. That’s what I created this thread. So what’s one piece of equipment that you have, and like?

-Chris

I know tool choice is personal, and that’s why I created this thread. To see what others are using… when using the search field, I really only find comments like your’s Bob… so if you could, just name a tool you use and why you like it. Here, I’ll start!

1. Buck Bros. 6-n-1 Screw Driver Model # 120SD12D.
  2. This is my all time favorite screw driver. I have 2 of them. It’s strong and cheap. The only bad thing about it is the length… sometimes I have to rely on longer screw drivers.

Thanks for your questions Chris, most of us are here to help each other, not to diss a newcomer to the industry. Lest we forget where we all started?
Your choice for a ladder will depend on what you drive to the inspections. If you drive a Kia, you won’t look very professional pulling up to your inspection with a 20’ extension ladder strapped to the roof. Extend N Climb has a nice ladder if you drive a passenger vehicle.