New member to the boards

Hi everyone,

Maybe an introduction will speed up the question here.

I am a Home Inspector in training, I am currently studying for the home inspection course through Carson Dunlop/Seneca. I have taken 5 exams so far, 1 I failed, I am resitting that course immediately this term. 1 course I got below the required for OAHI grade and the rest were fine. I am sitting another two on top of the one I failed this term so will be at 7 of ten by the end of this term hopefully (fingers crossed for all passes).
Anyway, I want to ask a few questions as to how I would approach getting employment within the Home Inspection field. Should I complete all the courses first before I approach a company? Would I be better to pass all the courses first? To OAHI standards? If there is more you think I should do before I try to gain employment what would that be?
I have no construction background, although I am also studying an Architectural program that seems to sap the life out of me ( I got stuck on Heavy construction blueprint reading)

All discussion on this is so welcome, I know I have a long time to go before I even finish the college courses, but I am thinking ahead. I have been reading the OAHI site seeing where I should go from the courses, and see a number of things that I need to do there too.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Kathy

Well you have made a great start coming to the NACHI BB .
You will learn a huge amount here .
Listen ,read, ask questions and as you get more familiar you might consider joining NACHI .
You as a non member can only get to a part of this BB .
There are some sections available to members only .
What part of Ontario do you live in .
I live In Brighton 100 miles east of Toronto.
My wife is also a full time inspector .
We work as a team and it works well for us .
Look under this post these are just a few of the many things available at NACHI.
Just click and learn.
…Cookie

Hi Roy Thanks for the answers and the welcome.