InterNACHI


Go Back   InterNACHI Message Board > Geographically Specific Forums > Canadian Inspectors

Notices

Canadian Inspectors This forum is specifically for Canadian Home Inspectors.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 6/15/06, 4:19 PM
Claude Lawrenson's Avatar
Claude Lawrenson Claude Lawrenson is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tecumseh-Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,567
Exclamation Is this a virus?

I received the following email - it was flagged by Norton Virus Checker.

From: larryewens@aol.com('') var x=''x+='' +X.AddrS+ ''x+=' | 'x+='' +X.Headers+ ''x+='
' +X.To;w(x) Save Address | Headers
To : clawrenson@acncanada.net
w(X.CC)CC :
w(X.LblDate)Date : Thu, 15 Jun 2006 12:28:38 -0500 (CDT)
w(X.Subject)Subject : Look at this
come play a quick game with me

Go here to sign up

http://playreg.info/go.asp?id=1&sourceid=100142&friend=



Cheers, Claude Lawrenson NACHI03121515
Inspection Support Services Inc.

"It is not the strongest of the species that survives nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change." -Charles Darwin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6/15/06, 4:42 PM
phinsperger's Avatar
phinsperger phinsperger is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON
Posts: 1,845
Please Note: phinsperger is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Is this a virus?

I received the same email from Larry and wondered the same thing. I did not click on the link. What's up Larry?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6/15/06, 4:51 PM
wforsyth's Avatar
wforsyth wforsyth is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brinnon, Wa
Posts: 7,928
Please Note: wforsyth is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Is this a virus?

It's asking for your email address AND the password. Looks like a scam to get into people's email.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6/15/06, 4:57 PM
rwand1 rwand1 is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Caledon, ON
Posts: 7,987
Please Note: rwand1 is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Is this a virus?

I got the same thing but Norton did not flag it. The invitation does not have Larry's correct email address. The one listed on the invitation is wrong as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6/15/06, 11:31 PM
George A. H. Luck's Avatar
George A. H. Luck George A. H. Luck is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LANSDOWNE, ON
Posts: 2,251
Default Re: Is this a virus?

There goes the Knighthood!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6/16/06, 8:25 AM
Charles R. N. Crooker's Avatar
Charles R. N. Crooker Charles R. N. Crooker is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brantford, ON
Posts: 722
Default Re: Is this a virus?

Did anyone find out what it was we were to play???



Chuck Crooker I.M.M., Canadian Home Inspectorhttp://www.crookerhancox.com "Not just an inspection, an Education!!!"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6/16/06, 12:06 PM
Claude Lawrenson's Avatar
Claude Lawrenson Claude Lawrenson is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tecumseh-Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,567
Default Re: Is this a virus?

Spam ......asks for email and passwords ....hence phish.....

Are you ready to beat your friend?


Play against your friend and invite other friends
(Enter your email account information and click "Next")
Your First Name:



Email: @hotmail.comPassword:
Email: @aol.comPassword:
Email: @yahoo.comPassword:
Email: Password:
I Am over the age of 18, and agree to the terms of use and privacy policy.



Cheers, Claude Lawrenson NACHI03121515
Inspection Support Services Inc.

"It is not the strongest of the species that survives nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change." -Charles Darwin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6/16/06, 1:34 PM
Larry Ewens's Avatar
Larry Ewens Larry Ewens is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to lewens
Default Re: Is this a virus?

This thing came to me Via Dale Noble from ACISS and Internachi. I made the mistake of opening the damned thing and I do apologize for any inconvenience it has cost all in my address book. I will be talking to Dale about this and see where he got it.
Larry



Larry Ewens
1578 Colborne St
Brantford On
Nachi ID #05022485
Just my usual 12.5 cents


http://acissbrant.blogspot.com/

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6/16/06, 1:36 PM
Larry Ewens's Avatar
Larry Ewens Larry Ewens is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to lewens
Default Re: Is this a virus?

I had a feeling about the email but when it said from Dale Noble I opened it and...............
****.
Larry



Larry Ewens
1578 Colborne St
Brantford On
Nachi ID #05022485
Just my usual 12.5 cents


http://acissbrant.blogspot.com/

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6/16/06, 2:10 PM
Jae Williams's Avatar
Jae Williams Jae Williams is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sharonville, OH
Posts: 3,853
Default Re: Is this a virus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewens
This thing came to me Via Dale Noble from ACISS and Internachi. I made the mistake of opening the damned thing and I do apologize for any inconvenience it has cost all in my address book. I will be talking to Dale about this and see where he got it.
Larry
That's the way those things operate and it only takes a micro-second to complete its mission.

When I saw that Email my first thought that it must be O.K.--it;s from Larry...then I thought I'd wait 'til the weekend to ask him about it--but now I don't have to ask.



"not just an inspection, but an education"

www.homesweethomecincinnati.com

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb.
Liberty is a well-armed lamb. B. Franklin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6/16/06, 2:47 PM
rwand1 rwand1 is offline
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Caledon, ON
Posts: 7,987
Please Note: rwand1 is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: Is this a virus?

Ideally it should be forwarded to your internet provider along with the page info/source and labled as unsolicited email. I am sure the authorities would like to know who is fishing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6/17/06, 9:57 AM
Larry Ewens's Avatar
Larry Ewens Larry Ewens is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to lewens
Default Re: Is this a virus?

Guys
I did report it as spam.
Larry



Larry Ewens
1578 Colborne St
Brantford On
Nachi ID #05022485
Just my usual 12.5 cents


http://acissbrant.blogspot.com/

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8/7/06, 9:40 PM
dnoble's Avatar
dnoble dnoble is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 55
Default Re: Is this a virus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewens
This thing came to me Via Dale Noble from ACISS and Internachi. I made the mistake of opening the damned thing and I do apologize for any inconvenience it has cost all in my address book. I will be talking to Dale about this and see where he got it.
Larry
Hey Larry,
I got this email also, but deleted it when I got it. Some of my other contacts called me up asking about it and I had no idea how they got it from me, including yourself. Beats me.????

Regards,

Dale.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8/8/06, 3:19 PM
Erby Crofutt's Avatar
Erby Crofutt Erby Crofutt is offline
InterNACHI Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: Is this a virus?

I get e-mail all the time from admin @ b4uclose . net telling me my account has been suspended for some violation or another. Usually contains a virus.

BUT, it is a spoofed e-mail address.

"I" AM b4uclose.net and no one else has access to any b4uclose.net stuff.

It's amazing what people try to get away with.

When I read the headers for these e-mails it identifies where it actuallyh comes from but I don't take the time to decipher it. Just delete it and move on.



--

Erby Crofutt
B4U Close Home Inspections
Georgetown, Kentucky

KY Lic# HI-2041
www.b4uclose.com
http://www.kentuckyradon.com
Kentucky Home Inspections
Kentucky Home Inspectors
NACHI02090301

Read my Active Rain Blog here: Erby, The Central Kentucky Home Inspector

Join Active Rain HERE and I'll get some points for your participation. Please! I did ask nice!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Virus, is it true? ajalowsky Misc. Discussion 0 1/25/06 3:13 PM
SoberWorm Virus ajalowsky Misc. Discussion 4 1/5/06 8:24 PM
New virus threat for Windows PCs dedwards Misc. Discussion 1 1/4/06 2:37 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 2:56 AM.


Copyright © International Association of Certified Home Inspectors, Inc. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147

Popular Sections

:

All Sections

Popular

Membership

Inspection Standards

Education

Chapters & Members

Articles & Links

Other Organizations

 

 

 

NACHI.ORG Statistics

 

 

no new posts