Firewall

Here’s the situation. I inspected a home the other day and pointed out what I thought was a firewall problem.

This is a single story home built in 1999. The garage walls and ceiling are fully sheathed. The seller added a storage area above the ceiling in the garage with a pull down staircase.

When I pulled the stairs down and went up to look at the storage area I noticed that there was no wall separating the garage and the house and the attic area above the house was visible.

The seller, who is the original owner, states that he did not remove this wall and other than adding the storage area, this is how the home was built.

I’m not an expert on building codes so I need some help. Thanks

This is what I would say about it, assuming its a non-fire rated, wooden drop-down ladder:

“Today’s standards for new construction require a firewall separation between the garage and the living space. A common defect exists in that a pull-down ladder assembly in the garage ceiling violates the firewall separation between the garage and the living quarters. Its hatch cover should be sheathed in metal, or the wall of the residence beyond it must be plastered or dry-walled. Remedies approved by Mecklenburg County, NC, which may be used as a guidance document, are available at: http://www.aohomeinspection.com/pdf/Firewalls.pdf

Like Joe stated, he compromised the firewall (ceiling) by adding the wooden pull down stairs.

The firewall was a requirement at time of construction. By adding the stairs and the storage area, the seller breached the required firewall. It will need to be sealed or a proper fire rated set of stairs installed.

It is important to tell your clients that this is a breach in the firewall and that insurance companies will find any reason to not pay a claim. Should there be a fire that can be tracked to the garage, I can guarantee you that they will deny the claim and cancel their insurance plan.