Pricing for thermal imaging services

Hi:

I am new to the board, so, please be gentle.

I am about to enter the commercial side of inspections, as well as the thermal imaging field. I took my Thermography I with Snell Group. I have plenty of experience as a home inspector.

My problem is pricing. I have no idea how I should set my prices: by the square foot? How much should I add for thermal imaging? Are there minima (or just one minimum only) out there?

What if the inspection is only for thermal imaging? What is used as a base for pricing.

I am in the Midwest.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Arnold

Hi Arnold,

I inspect commercial buildings everyday of the week, if you would like to fly to Phoenix and follow us around your more than welcome to.

I separate the services, but everyone has their own way of doing business.

My fees start at .10 a foot, the average is .20 per foot for the major systems and components only, if they want ADA, a Phase One ESA, etc, we add these fees to the baseline.

Thermal Imaging depends on the scope of work, if your inspecting 10 panels or 100 it makes a huge difference.

Basically for thermal imaging you should be charging at least $1,000.00 per day if you have a quality Radiometer.

Inspected this building today, my fee was $2,479.00, I was there for five hours, alone.

If you need any help you can call me anytime.

Cheers,

Dale

very nice

Dale:

Thank you for your reply and invitation to tag along. It is very tempting, but righ now I need to rent the Jaws of Life to open my wife’s purse.

I will give you a call to see about possibilities.

Thanks again.

Seem to get a lot of these questions from those that attended Snell.
Maybe you should contact them and see if they can put some stuff together like several of the others in that business have done…