Realtor looking for advice

I’m new to forum. Been lurking for a while and am impressed with the level of professionalism displayed here. Thanks for letting me visit!

I’m a Realtor trying to cultivate new business and offer my customers a better home in the process. The goal is to use thermal imaging to understand more about the product we’re representing.

As a former auto mechanic and punch carpenter, I’m not without my abilities. I understand the concepts of full blown energy audit and if I thought I could go to these lengths to insure my clients were buying the best home they could for their money, I would. However, I understand this isn’t possible or affordable. You can only wear so many hats…

However, it would seem I could use this technology to at least see if a home is insulated fairly well (or at all) and find glaring moisture issues around shower stalls and that sort of thing.

As a real estate professional, I feel spending a couple of hours on every home we receive counter offers on would not only be beneficial for the home buyer but me as well. There’s no way I could do this on every home we offer on but if the seller comes back with a workable counter, lets do it. Contracts often stall at the inspection report and knowing all I can about a property with the experience I have could, in theory, save time in the long run by addressing repair issues early in the negotiation process.

As an auto mechanic, I get the need for quality tools. I understand that the more money I spend, the quicker and more accurate the inspection process will go. But I also know that cheap tools have their uses.

I know the I5 doesn’t have a great reputation as being a useful “professional” home inspection tool but how would it work for developing a generalized opinion about a home? I also haven’t seen opnions on the new I7 so how would it stack up?