New article on permanent wood foundations

Use this thread to discuss the entry New article on permanent wood foundations at the InterNACHI Blog

This is my first post here, and I registered primarily to inquire about a 2009 article I just read on the main website. I am a licensed civil/structural engineer in Texas.

I just read the article linked in the original post, and was struck by this statement: “Wood foundations are simpler, quicker and cheaper to construct than masonry foundations. They will not, however, last as long as masonry foundations and are less durable in the long-term.”
From Permanent Wood Foundations - InterNACHI http://www.nachi.org/permanent-wood-foundations.htm#ixzz1msfJgOAX

No citation is offered for that claim. More importantly, there are no qualifications on the statement - no mention of proper construction - nothing. I have never found a study that reaches this conclusion. I’ve also seen masonry foundations fail after a short time, and I know that some PWF’s have been around for decades with no indication whatever of degradation.

Was this statement made “from the hip?” Do the authors, or anyone for that matter, have solid research (as opposed to anecdotes or “common sense”) to back this rather general claim? I would very much like to know.

Thank you,
Chris

Even your post supports our contention. You said in your post

implying that it is your experience that only a percentage of PWFs have been around for decades with no indication of degradation and that you have only found “some.”

Nick,

IMHO the article does show some bias against wood foundations.

To improve it you should include examples of failed wood foundations systems and the cause of the failure.

My contention is that the statement is unsupported by citation or solid evidence, and that it is unqualified - only a blanket statement of A > B. This is like saying that airplanes last longer than cars, or that apples taste better than bananas.