Blacklisted

Anyone ever been “Blacklisted”? Today a realtor stated (texted) he will no longer be using my services as I am no longer offering a free reinspect. I’m new to the inspection business (1 1/2 yrs) and wondering if this is typical of a realtor to say/do. Found this article interesting concerning Appraisers and Black Listing. http://www.workingre.com/smoking-gun-allows-appraiser-sue-blacklisting/ Thoughts?

Good idea to hold on to that text.

An individual agent saying that they will not recommend you because of your pricing policies is hardly being blacklisted.

You need a website so that you can market directly to consumers and not be beholden to agents for your livelihood.

I believe that professionals deserve to be paid whenever they provide professional services. I charge a fee anytime I make a house-call, including reinspections.

Cevans, Blacklisted seemed to be right word at the time… it chaps my back side this agent believes it is his decision on who inspects his clients home. Shouldn’t this be the choice of the client? This is the agents text “future endeavors will not be utilizing your services. It is a business decision on my part as well”. That is in response to me telling him I will no longer provide a courtesy reinspect. Coming into the profession I am just surprised on how much agents control our clientele. If you are willing I am interested to hear the number of clients you receive via your website versus real estate agents. Most of my clients calls start like this: “My realtor gave me your number”. Either way it is a double edge sword. Sounds like I should just shut up and color!

Sounds like something to put on your website…

“I’m the guy who your agent doesn’t want to inspect your house”